• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

New to valves & this forum.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all, as above I'm new to everything & can't wait to read any old threads I can find & see what I can learn. Hopefully I will learn as I think I already may have made an almighty boo boo!!!

All I've bought so far is a dared mc-7p pre & small mono blocs but I did try them today at a friends house using a musical fidelity x-ray. The rest of my system will come after a massive aquarium upgrade & re decorating. My boo boo is that tonight I plugged my phone into the pre's phono input & then wondered why it was playing at such a low volume!!!

Number, 1, have I killed my phono input? Number 2, I'm really confused as to why it was playing so low? Isn't a phono input supposed to have a higher gain so shouldn't it have been louder? Have I just shown what a total noobie pratt I am?

Taking the above into account, should I also stay away from the tweak thread about the dared mc-7p!!!??? :)

Do you have a schematic for it?

Sorry, no I haven't. I will do a search of the net & see what I can come up with as I'm sure there's a few sites where they tweak these.

I'll try & lend it to a friend that has a turntable & see what happens. Even if I didn't damage it, I definitely think there's something wrong with it if it played a line level source at such a low volume. Anyway thanks to everyone for offering assistance.

Disabled Account
Joined 2010
You may find,

it has only MM not MC phono..there is quite a difference...also a line in is going into phono (turntable)..this has RIAA EQ and will distort your line signal..

If you have a schematic it will be easier to help you..:)

Regards