diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   New to valves & this forum. (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/226596-new-valves-forum.html)

Arckivio 28th December 2012 10:28 PM

New to valves & this forum.

Hi all, as above I'm new to everything & can't wait to read any old threads I can find & see what I can learn. Hopefully I will learn as I think I already may have made an almighty boo boo!!!

All I've bought so far is a dared mc-7p pre & small mono blocs but I did try them today at a friends house using a musical fidelity x-ray. The rest of my system will come after a massive aquarium upgrade & re decorating. My boo boo is that tonight I plugged my phone into the pre's phono input & then wondered why it was playing at such a low volume!!!

Number, 1, have I killed my phono input? Number 2, I'm really confused as to why it was playing so low? Isn't a phono input supposed to have a higher gain so shouldn't it have been louder? Have I just shown what a total noobie pratt I am?

Taking the above into account, should I also stay away from the tweak thread about the dared mc-7p!!!??? :)

M Gregg 29th December 2012 03:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arckivio (Post 3302461)

Have I just shown what a total noobie pratt I am?

Yes..sorry you did ask..:rolleyes:

Regards
M. Gregg

Arckivio 29th December 2012 03:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M Gregg (Post 3303128)
Yes..sorry you did ask..:rolleyes:

Regards
M. Gregg

Still haven't worked out why the volume was so low through the phono input that is supposed to have higher gain, any clues?

Mooly 29th December 2012 04:03 PM

No clues without seeing it all, it would all be guessing... although several things come to mind.

I don't think you will have damaged anything either :)

Arckivio 29th December 2012 04:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mooly (Post 3303146)