• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

DIY AMP start project - Help choosing one

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi .

I am new in this field of building an amp or other electronic devices but I have the enthusiasm to do it as a hobby.
I am reading some details about the circuits but I am lack of knowledge in how each component contribute to the sound/circuit and whats its porpouse. Does anyone can link me to a good guide ? Anyway, I though a good way to start is to take a well known schematics and build it and on the way to understand the inside of the amp.
I was suggested to start with low voltage amp rather high voltage as the lack of experience so I found the below kits (unfortunately they are headphones amps):
Bottleneck Crack $280
Project Sunrise II $200
The Starving Student Millett hybrid $130

Of course that any other suggestions will be welcome but I was wondering if any of this can run even in low volume , a nice Paradigm speakers instead or headphones as I am hearing using speakers mostly.

Thanks.
Sagi

Perhaps you could consider starting with a pre-built amp board such as the ones sold by hifimediy.com and then selectively replacing onboard caps and inductors. You would be working with a very good sounding amp to begin with, and then hear the differences as you swap out components. And it would give you a great starting amp to compare others against. These amps, in stock form, will outperform 98% of what's out there, and for very little money.

Then you could start building a tube-amp kit, such as the ones from Transcendent Audio. They have some wonderful OTL amps.