• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

GM-70 design approach

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been brainstorming a gm 70 design but have been getting stumped in a few areas. This is my first attempt at a high voltage design so I am unsure about a few things regarding the power supply design.

Filter chokes that have a dcwv of 1kV+ seem hard to come by. How do some people go about obtaining these chokes? Is there a way to use a lower test choke and decrease the potential that it sees?

I am planning on making it a SE parallel design using the hammond 1642SE 5K 75W OT. I am thinking of using a 6sn7 type as an input tube followed by an 807 to drive the gm-70’s. I have yet to start drawing any schematics on paper, but I wanted to run this past a few of you and see if anything really stands out as a large problem with this design approach. After looking at the 807s datasheet, do believe it will drive the gm 70 well. Is this a correct assumption? Thanks!

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
I placed the chokes in the CLCLC plate supply to the GM70 on the negative side of the supply in my amps. See old ARRL Radio Amateur Hand Books for useful high voltage supply design details. Since the only the ripple voltage and DC IR drop appear across the choke there is not much stress on the insulation and standard good quality chokes can be used.