Are these tubes really matched? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th November 2012, 04:09 AM   #1
MGH is offline MGH  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Are these tubes really matched?

Hi, just bought some pairs of "matched" Golden Lion reissue 12AX7, NOS Telefunken 12AX7 smooth plate diamond bottom, and NOS milspec Mullard CV4024 (12AT7).

Mullard CV4024: Mu 51.8/42.1 53.1/45.2
Golden Lion: Mu 97.2/95.5 96.7/99.0
Telefunken: Mu 91.5/91.5 91.0/91.8

My questions:
1) I'm not a tube expert but the Mullard is wildly off internally, 20% mismatch for one and 16% for the other. Between tubes seem relatively close, but still imbalanced internally. Would you return these for better matched pair?

2) I suppose the Golden Lion is pretty close. Is this acceptable?

3) The Telefunkens are almost perfectly matched. But absolute values seem a little low for NOS. Should be close to 100 according to specs. Is this acceptable? Especially given, I paid over $100 each for these.

Thanks for your input.
Old 16th November 2012, 04:37 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Sch3mat1c Send a message via AIM to Sch3mat1c
Acceptable on what basis? An instrumentation application might fail them, but then, an instrumentation amplifier would contain enough negative feedback to overcome such differences with room to spare.