2A3 with 12AT7 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th November 2012, 01:12 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 2A3 with 12AT7

Ok so I am new to hifi and only researching this for a few weeks I wanted to post a first iteration of a topology. The power tube is a 2A3 and the gain/CF are a single 12AT7 tube. Here is my reasoning to save from writing an essay on why I chose this tube. The 12AT7 provides a gain of ~60 but can also deliver plenty of current where the 2A3 requires about 3mA minimum due to its "slew rate".

The 12AX7 was too low current, same with 5751, where the 12AY7 and 12AU7 were plenty of current but perhaps not enough gain. So I settled on the 12AT7 to make a go of it and DC couple it all with enough voltage on the supply to make each stage work.

I can send in 130Vpp into the 2A3 with 7mA current in this design. In terms of the PS, I am considering diodes with a strange setup on the caps/inductors. After reading quite a bit of information about hifi power supplies, there seemed to be two issues: speed and ripple.