eico st70 input impedance question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th October 2012, 03:01 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default eico st70 input impedance question

hello everyone, my name is matt and i am somewhat new to the wonderful world of tubes. i just bought a very clean eico st70 from a reputable audio dealer in new york. (amp is currently on the way to my doorstep) it has been gone through and verified to be a great working unit. this amp will be pushing a pair of sansui sp1700 or a pair of sp2500 speakers, i figure i will choose the pair best matched for the amp..

i have read a lot on modding and such and i'm familiar with my way around a soldering iron. looks like they have already done the "loudness switch" mod, so that's a bonus... but to get to my real question, i have been reading the manual and noticed there are several different input impedance levels for certain inputs:

input sensitivity input impedance
phono a 4Mv 100K ohm
phono b 4Mv 47K ohm
tape head 3 3/4 1.4Mv 1M ohm
tape head 7 1/2 2.15Mv 1M ohm
fm 480Mv 500K ohm
am 480Mv 500K ohm
Muiltiplex 480Mv 500K ohm
tape 480Mv 500K ohm

so, me being new to tubes and impedance levels.. i really don't want to mess anything up.. I have figured out by doing some investigative research that my technics 1200 with an audio technica at120e will match nicely with the "phono b" input, but what inputs would be safe to hook my tv, or a cd player to? would any of those inputs be safe or would i need to modify something?

thank you very much for your help!
Old 19th October 2012, 04:06 PM   #2
diyAudio Member