Looking for first tube amp kit. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th October 2012, 04:51 AM   #1
bugeyed is offline bugeyed  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Looking for first tube amp kit.

I would like to build a nice tube amp to drive my Sonus Faber Cremona speakers. They are rated at 90dB efficiency & are in a small room. I listen at moderate levels to most everything except rap & hip hop.
I am an electronics engineering tech & proficient with a soldering iron & have some test equipment, so I am not afraid to tackle a complex project if the results are worth the effort.
Looking for something less than $1k & am looking for a kit to avoid having to source all the components. Not opposed to point to point wiring construction or one with a SS power supply. I will be using a SS preamp for now. Integrated tube amp is good too! With a nice phono preamp. Anyway, I just want to get started playing around with glass & have some fun without spending a ton. Any guidance will be appreciated.

Thanks,
kev
Old 17th October 2012, 09:17 PM   #2
disco is offline disco  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Kev, walk away from it now you still can.
We're all broke solder slingerers with three mortgages to the home.
Our kids are frequenting the worn store or hunting for fur
Old 17th October 2012, 09:46 PM   #3
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.

hi kev
if no tube amps, what other amps have you built
Old 17th October 2012, 09:46 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by disco View Post
Kev, walk away from it now you still can.
We're all broke solder slingerers with three mortgages to the home.