• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

c3g self oscillation problem - a newbie needs help!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all.
I am a complete newbie at dealing with vacuum tubes, and my plan is to build a class A PP amp with c3g tubes for phase inverter and driver stage.

I have wired up three c3g tubes and been doing some tests. It seems to me like they are self oscillating. The oscilloscope screen shots shows the plate to GND voltage (oscilloscope in AC mode) of the PI stage. As you can see, there is an oscillation at about 400kHz, and I can not get rid of it.

The setup looks pretty much like the drawings attached (sorry for the quality, I don't have a scanner), but I have tried some different grid leak resistors, grid series resistor etc. Also, the 100R resistor is not used.

In the c3g datasheet, there is no indication that I should use grid resistors for g2 and g3. Maybe I should? Could the lack of those be the cause of the oscillations?

I'm very thankful for all input.
Please feel free to ask for more info if needed.

Attachments

• DSCF1779.JPG
    DSCF1779.JPG
    116.2 KB · Views: 258
  • DSCF1780.JPG
    DSCF1780.JPG
    77.5 KB · Views: 257
  • NewFile0.PNG
    NewFile0.PNG
    9.6 KB · Views: 254
  • NewFile1.PNG
    NewFile1.PNG
    7.9 KB · Views: 243