• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Some Power Supply Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I need a B+ of approx 150v

I have several possible rectifiers, but have narrowed the field to either a 5Z3 or a 6X5WGT as I have a few of each. I also like the big 5Z3 just for looks.

I am a bit of a noob to designing supplies, and am trying to work my way through all the formula and postings on reverse engineering the voltage to assess the ACV from the transformer.

If I use a specific tube, I know it's volts drop from the data sheet, and I know I will lose about 20v through a choke, so I can factor those it. I also read that I will get a DCV about 1.41 times the ACV.

So assuming a 5Z3 with a volts drop of 58v at full load and a 8/10h choke losing another 20v, I figure I need a PT of around 165-0-165

Am I doing this correctly?

I realize that the rectifier won't be at full load, so I need to compensate those volts drop a bit. Average load will be 50ma.

TIA

Are you planning on using a cap input or choke input supply?

Choke input supplies require a rather beefy choke compared to a cap input supply.

Do you know the DCR of your intended choke? The DCR of the transformer secondary is also helpful.

As you already determined, the voltage drop across the rectifier tube is a function of current as well.

A capacitor input (CLC or CRC) supply is going to give you roughly 1.41 x transformer secondary (less voltage drop for various series resistance at your current draw, including the drop for the resistance of the choke).

A choke input supply is going to give you roughly .9 x transformer secondary V less the voltage drop across your series R at your required current draw.