• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

K12G Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a first time tube builder and very little electronics experience. I just finished building the S5 Electronics K12G kit and it did power on with no smoke or blown fuses....but it doesn't work right either.

Problem: I get either low sound and popping noises from the right channel with only background hiss from the left, or I get clear full volume sound from the left with only hiss and popping noises from the right channel. I have tried moving the tubes around in different orders and the above is the only result I can get. All the tubes light up, although one of them will light up brightly for a second before settling down to match the others; I thought this one might be bad, but it's position doesn't seem to make a difference.

I double checked to make sure everything was in the right place, all my solder connections are very clean, no burn marks anywhere, all of the pins from each socket has at least some resistance value when measured from the pin to the speaker black.

Any thoughts? I don't have any testing tools beyond a multimeter, keep that in mind in your replies please. I'd like to try and figure out what went wrong, but worst case, I'll package it up and send to S5 for repair.

It would greatly help if you could give us some voltage readings for both channels.
This has to be done with the amp switched on - of course - so please be very careful. Use clip-leads on your multimeter and change clip-position only when the amp is turned off and caps have discharged.
Interesting values are the anode and cathode voltages and the B+ voltage.