What would you change in this schematic? (PP amp) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th September 2012, 07:34 PM   #1
Account disabled at member's request

Default What would you change in this schematic? (PP amp)

hi, I ''like'' the sound of my monoblocks but would like to know if there are obvious flaws, so I can make them sound even better. I have got them for a good deal and never bothered fixing them, now is the time. It looks like the builder put what he had in hand, so while the design is relatively fine, I think that the values are maybe off. I am not experienced enough to know what should I change, so I ask.

EDIT: I would like to know what are the critical caps and resistors. I need to change those. The builder used quite bad components. I'm not enough experienced to determine which caps and resistors are the most important in here, would like someone to help me...

I attached the schematic.

thanks
Attached Files
File Type: doc Mono Amp Tube final.doc (56.0 KB, 268 views)

Last edited by murphythecat8; 13th October 2012 at 07:51 PM.
Old 26th September 2012, 08:37 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Location: Barrio Garay,Almirante Brown, Buenos Aires, Argentina
I would use the second triode inside first twin triode as a CCS for the LTP, and bettering the balance. Or also as a CCS for the plate of the first unit, but prefer the first idea.
Old 27th September 2012, 04:31 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

hum pot if your dead set on tube rectification and that small power supply filter. you need a protection scheme for the B+ circut to protect your output trannies....either hi voltage fuses or 1 ohm resisters, fuses being my preference.