• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

under-run push pull

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
After a bit of advice here guys. Heaven knows I'm no designer but I did have a fair amount practical knowledge under my belt a couple of decades back..

Basically I'm looking for a design with the same sort of ethos as the Quad 2, mostly from the viewpoint that they were bomb proof and under run the KT66's so they lasted forever:)

I'm after push pull, in the 12w/channel range and all tube, no semiconductors at all. Doesn't have to use KT66's of course but I would like nice big power tubes that are given an easy life.

Any ideas as so far I've come up blank. Most designs seem to like to push their valves close to their limits.. Id clone the 2's except for those dratted custom output transformers...

Thanks

You could add fixed bias if it has cathode bias and bias it as low as possible where it still sounds good.

Look at the EFB on on diytube for the Dynaco SCA/ST-35 for example. There is a link to it on the Tranola site. In a nutshell it allows fixed bias on any of the EL84/6V6/6973/7591 amps without getting another transformer. The voltage reg is not in the signal path.

Dave Gillespie the developer of it found you can lower the bias to about 27mA which gives 9W instead of the 12W design rating (for EL84/6BQ5) on the SCA/ST-35 amp for long tube life and the ability to run some new production tubes that normally wouldn't last.

Even though it was lowered from 32-35 mA on the stock amp the greater efficiency of fixed bias still allowed a increase of 3-4 W/CH with improved sonics to boot.

See the 5th post for the Tranola site with Dave's paper.