• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Help with this schematic? B+? B++?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey, i'm pretty new to building amps and other DIY electronics. I feel silly bringing this question to a forum with seasoned enthusiasts, but i did a fair amount of searching online but didn't find anything that was sufficient to help me.
this is the schematic i am dealing with:
http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii151/cameramanlink/AllAmerican4GuitarAmp-1.gif

i don't understand what B+ and B++ are.
i found a site that explains B+
The Power Supply

but it doesn't make sense to me with the transformer shown in the schematic. and it doesn't state what the "++" one would be.

once again, sorry to clutter up the board with "noob" stuff, but could someone shed some light on this for me?

thanks for any help.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
They are different voltage rails. Look at the PSU section. B+ is after the rectifier. This is the main HT supply and can supply most current. B++ is fed from this via a resistor and another smoothing cap. It's a cleaner supply but able to supply less current.

B+ and B++ goes to the appropriate parts of the main circuit. Using the B++ rail which is "cleaner" to supply the first (low current) stages will result in less hum and noise.