cathode follower question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th August 2012, 08:27 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default cathode follower question

Hello,

I'm just learning about tube amps and have come to a stumbling block on the issue of the cathode follower.

It's seems my head is stuck on the idea that in a vacuum tube, electrons flow from the negative cathode to the postive anode (plate) 'amplifing' the grid input, but when it comes to a cathode follower (increases current not voltage) it's seem that electrons are flowing from the plate to the cathode (I know this can't be right, is it?) and thus current is being drawn from the grid signal to the cathode.

I've read and I'm trying to understand this explaination from ampbooks.com but still not getting it...

"A basic triode amplifier is great for increasing the voltage of a signal. Its major problem is that it can't drive a very heavy load. Place a low-valued resistance across its output and it easily gets bogged down, which reduces the gain and makes it dependent upon the characteristics of the load. If the next stage is a voltage amp or a phase inverter, this isn't much of a problem. A tone stack, however, typically demands a lot of current from the driving stage, the amount of which depends on the signal characteristics and the tone control settings. A cathode follower mitigates this problem. It has no gain (in fact a slight loss), but it can easily drive the most demanding of tone stacks.