DeathTrap400 : : A Pretty Damn Good 300B Amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th August 2012, 10:03 PM   #1
tomchr is offline tomchr  United States
diyAudio Member

Default DeathTrap400 : : A Pretty Damn Good 300B Amp

Those of you who have followed my posts for a while know that I've been perfecting my 300B amp for a couple of years now. I think I've finally reached Audio Nirvana.

The main challenge driving a 300B is that the driver will have to swing 160~180 Vpp, cleanly. The ECC99 from JJ fits this bill very nicely. It's a medium tube ( = 22), in current production, and reasonably priced ($15/EA). I've tried several other tubes - 6SN7, 6SL7, d3A, etc. - but they either can't swing 180 Vpp cleanly or can't provide 180 Vpp at all at reasonable bias points. The 6SN7/6J5 comes close, but the ECC99 is much lower THD.

I tried several circuit topologies and ended up settling on using one ECC99 per channel. One half of the ECC99 provides a CCS loaded, LED biased common cathode amplifier stage with a gain of roughly 20 V/V. The other half of the ECC99 is rigged as a cathode follower driving the 300B.
The high gm of the ECC99 (9.5 mA/V) ensures a low output impedance of the cathode follower (Zout = 100 ohm). Hence, the driver's output impedance is dominated by the grid stopper on the 300B.

My first prototype has been playing in my living room for a few months while I've been tweaking it. I'm likin' it. I plan to offer boards for this amp sometime in the fall.

~Tom
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Toobes.jpg (307.6 KB, 3374 views)
File Type: png ECC99_300B_Driver_R1p1.png (29.6 KB, 3354 views)
Old 19th August 2012, 10:55 PM   #2