• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

300b all-DHT SET

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been using nothing but DHTs as input tubes for about 3 years now, and my 300b amp has gone through various configurations using mostly 46, 10Y and 26 tubes in the input. I've gone through various topologies also. The worst by far was resistor loads in anode and cathode with cathode bypasses. Battery grid bias was an improvement, but I got best results with filament bias. My attempts at direct coupling the first stages ran into issues with cathode resistors and bypasses, and I gradually lost interest and started preferring all-DHT 2a3 PP amps as an alternative.

When I started using the 4P1L my interest in the 300b SET revived. Here was a tube that worked exceptionally well in filament bias. As a triode it's mu was around 10 and it's anode resistance around 2k. Perfect! And the filaments were around 2v at 650mA, so quite easy to provide a DC filament supply for. They sound best at around 15mA or more, and I had some interstages I could try out so I rigged up an experimental amp. After starting with a 26 input stage I went over to two similar stages of 4P1L. This seemed to give the best tone to the instrumental sound - the 300b is on the warmer side and the 4P1L on the leaner side. The 4P1L had better treble than the 26 also. It is a little microphonic in the input stage but not grossly so, and it doesn't hum.