Holco H4P Resistors, Should I use them? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd August 2012, 07:11 PM   #1
mbeards is offline mbeards  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Holco H4P Resistors, Should I use them?

Hi everyone,

I have stash of H4P resistors and I am thinking of using them for my latest tube amp project. I have never used them before but a few people have said on the web that they are unreliable and can let go at a 100V drop. (This was only one source)

The spec sheet suggests 500V.

Anyone have a similar experience? I don't want to put them in my amp and then have them let go left and right a week later. If they are no good Ill have to get something else because that is all I have.

Thanks
Matt
Old 2nd August 2012, 08:49 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hey there,

unless Holco is a very unreliable manufacturer (don't know them), the stated specs should be reached - though it might be wise to not stretch them to the outermost limits.

If spec sheet says 500V, I would use them up to 400V maybe, depending on criticality of their duty, power dissipation and other boundary conditions.

Greetings,
Andreas
Old 3rd August 2012, 02:09 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbeards View Post
Hi everyone,

I have stash of H4P resistors and I am thinking of using them for my latest tube amp project. I have never used them before but a few people have said on the web that they are unreliable and can let go at a 100V drop. (This was only one source)

The spec sheet suggests 500V.