• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

a few questions for my first time

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm new to diy amps and everything, and I'm about to start the wiring of my first amp in a few days. I just have a few questions before I start.

1. My power cable has 3 wires, hot, neutral, chassis (safety) ground. When I was looking at grounding schemes, it seems that chassis ground is the only ground used, ie. all grounds connect to the chassis. How do I wire this? Hot and Neutral connect to the transformer in and chassis ground connects to chassis where all other grounds connect?

2. In the power supply, I need 250v and 180v. In the schematic, the resister isn't labeled that drops the voltage from 250 to 180. How large of a resister do need?

3. I need a volume knob. Where can I get a nice one? The knobs at radio shack were ugly as hell.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Thanks
Andy

Hi Andy, and welcome to diyAudio :)

As far as earthing is concerned, you are spot-on. With regard to Live and Neutral, it is safest to run the Live through a fuse, then a switch, then to the transformer primary. The Neutral can connect directly to the primary, if only a single pole switch is available.

The value of the resistor that drops the 250v to 180v will depend on the current taken. Do you know? Or, do you have the amplifier schematic?

Try a search of the forum for Volume Knobs. There have been a couple of threads about them.

Cheers,

Your proposed grounding scheme will work fine.