a few questions for my first time - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th October 2003, 06:58 PM   #1
Lico is offline Lico  United States
diyAudio Member

Default a few questions for my first time

Hi, I'm new to diy amps and everything, and I'm about to start the wiring of my first amp in a few days. I just have a few questions before I start.

1. My power cable has 3 wires, hot, neutral, chassis (safety) ground. When I was looking at grounding schemes, it seems that chassis ground is the only ground used, ie. all grounds connect to the chassis. How do I wire this? Hot and Neutral connect to the transformer in and chassis ground connects to chassis where all other grounds connect?

2. In the power supply, I need 250v and 180v. In the schematic, the resister isn't labeled that drops the voltage from 250 to 180. How large of a resister do need?

3. I need a volume knob. Where can I get a nice one? The knobs at radio shack were ugly as hell.

Click the image to open in full size.

Thanks
Andy
Old 19th October 2003, 08:46 PM   #2
dhaen is offline dhaen  Europe
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

Hi Andy, and welcome to diyAudio

As far as earthing is concerned, you are spot-on. With regard to Live and Neutral, it is safest to run the Live through a fuse, then a switch, then to the transformer primary. The Neutral can connect directly to the primary, if only a single pole switch is available.

The value of the resistor that drops the 250v to 180v will depend on the current taken. Do you know? Or, do you have the amplifier schematic?

Try a search of the forum for Volume Knobs. There have been a couple of threads about them.

Cheers,