• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

capacitor voltage for tube amp power supply

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm building a power supply for a tube amplifier.
the power supply is :transformer(350V), bridge rectifier, 100uF, 5H, 100uF.
My B+ is 450Vdc according to PSU Designer II @150mA. I found the following capacitor: DS371506-CA which is rated for 370Vac. I think it's ok since 370Vac x 1.4 ~ 500Vdc, but I like to get confirmation from the experts.

Thanks,
Alex

I am not an expert, but it should withstand. I used oil caps for AC with luck in PSUs. However, check if peak voltage at turn on does not exceed maximum parameters for the cap. Next thing is temperature - only 70 degrees Centigrade.

Last edited:
Hi!

Which factor can be applied to the AC rating to get the DC number depends on the construction of the capacitor. I once discussed this with an engineer from Jensen Capacitors. He said that the minimum you can apply is factor 1.4. In some cases even much more. But if you do not have the DC rating from the manufacturer, use 1.4 and you are on the save side. So in your case. No problem to use it

Thomas

Most likely that capacitor is an aluminum can motor run capacitor, They are rated in volts AC.

You should be good to go.

Follow the usual caution procedures the first time that you fire it up.
I use clip leads to the DVM to monitor the voltage and a variac to ramp up slowly. I also cover the whole thing up to contain the mess if it goes bang.

Confession: I once connected a 10uf electrolytic capacitor in reverse polarity. It sounded like a firecracker going off and sprayed gick everywhere. It was covered, none of it got in my face or eyes.

DT