• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Bravo V2 tube headphone amp - high pitched noise?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi.

I'm a total newbie in the world of tubes, tube amplifiers etc.

I bought a Bravo V2 tube amp which uses a chinese 12au7 tube... (Valve Class A Tube Headphone Amplifier pre Bravo V2 | eBay)

(I'm not sure if I can post the link, sorry if I can't, I just want you guys to know what I'm talking about no advertising intended).

Well, it's the second day I'm using it and... I was about to turn it on, so I did the following:

1- Put the power supply connection (24V if I'm not mistaken)
2- Put the "In" signal (from computer soundcard)
3- Turned it on
4- Waited like a minute or something
5- Put the headphone on the "Out" of the amp
6- Raised volume from 0 to "something", not much

Now here is the deal, every single time I turned the amp on before, I put the headphone BEFORE turning it on...

So, when I started to hear the music, there was a screaming HIGH PITCHED sound coming through my headphones... This high-pitched sound was never there, not even with volume close to maximum, now it appeared in like 20% volume...

So you guys think maybe my tube is "dead"?
Next time should I be careful and turn the thing on AFTER I insert my headphones?
Also, can I use it with speakers?

Thanks and my apologies for asking too much!

Edit: The high-pitched noise (sounds like a 18khz tone or something, to describe it vaguely) increases as I increase the volume. I believe this info might be important somehow!

Last edited:
The amp must connected to a load (headphones) before turning it on.
The amp must have an input, recommend before turning on.