• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Newbie plan

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey,
I'm new to this forum, so i'm sorry if i posted this in the wrong section, but here goes.
I want to build a tube amp for music. The source will be my pc, and the amp with the speakers will replace my creative inspire 2.1 system. I'm not new to tube amps, i have built a guitar amp for myself (a Carvin Legacy clone) and one for my friend(Bogner XTC clone), but i've never built an amp intended for music before. So this is where the questions begin:

1) I have no idea what speaker system to use. I guess ~5-6 inch full range speakers will do(i intend to build a cab for them myself too), but i don't know if they'll provide enough bass. So i guess i'll have to build and add a crossover and a woofer? Oh, and since the speakers will be placed on top of my computer desk(except for the woofer), i can't use those tower-like speaker systems you see in an audio-purist's living room. Not that they have to be small, but i'd like to keep the speaker cabs under 40x25x20cm(HxWxD). So what'll be best for me?

2) I don't have much of an idea for an amp either. I guess 2 12ax7 gain stages with a volume control somewhere and no eq will be the preamp. As for the power amp i don't know if i want it cathode biased or fixed bias, i don't know if i want it with a PI or without one, i don't know if i want it triode/pentode/ultra-linear. Heck, i don't even know what tubes to use :D But i do have some el84's with an OPT laying around so i'd want to use those. Also i won't be playing music loud. Any schematics you would recommend and any music amp tips for beginners?