First Kit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd July 2012, 07:45 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default First Kit

Hi,
Total Noob here, I have been lurking for a while but this is my first post. Looking for some buying advice.

I am living in Japan, and looking to replace my lovely old Technics SU-A900 amp that died on me with a simple and fairly economic valve amp. Uses will be for CD music and DVD / BD output to my living room speakers while watching movies. I have no 5.1 surround system and don't intend buying one, having at least one malfunctioning ear. Als, no vinyl. I just want a nice reasonable valve amp as a project and as an objet d'art that isn't going to break the bank or buzz and hum. I have limited electronics experience, but I have built several Nixie clock kits and a couple of radios.

Key requirements are
  1. It must be a kit - part of the fun is going to be the assembly.
  2. I know that good looks don't equal good performance but I don't want anything too "industrial"
  3. At least 2, preferably 4 inputs
  4. I would like to be able to look at upgrade valves later on (maybe)

I have identified these three as possibilities
Elekit TU-879S
Triode TRK-3488
Advance HC-2SE Nice looking!!

The first two are definitely Japanese and seem to be well known around this forum. The third one may be Japanese or may be imported (China?). It's impossible to say from their website.

Any comments? Any other ideas would be warmly appreciated.
Old 3rd July 2012, 10:49 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

All of them, especially the 3rd one need high efficiency loudspeakers.