• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tips needed for some testing my newly built tube amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So I've built my first ever tube amp. I'm an experienced engineer on industrial automation (experienced enough to know how a treacherous enemy electricity is) but I have no previous experience either on audio amps neither building something myself. I'm considering options to safely power up my amp for basic testing. It's a SET 2A3 amp, with a 6SL7 SRPP gain stage and a 5U4G choke power supply. As a first step, I've considered powering the amp first only with the rectifier tube installed so I can check the voltages on the heater sockets; but this might not be fine since it's a choke power supply and needs some current drawn from it to work. I'd say that apart from poor ripple filtering I should not worry about it...should I? I'd be most grateful for your comments and tips on how to safely test my amp. Thank you.

The choke is followed by a cap I take it . The choke does need a load to test voltages properly as well as the cap need a path to discharge once charged . So just get a load resistor of enough watts at what is the projected load on the supply his gives you a good feel for what it is doing under operating conditions. Hast make problems ! As is said at my work place when it ready answer when we shut the door and push it of the gate. Safety takes time. Safety has no regrets.

Disabled Account
Joined 2009
even 20-30mA are enough to tame tube rectified voltages. Should you not add a minimum load the voltages would soar well beyond the caps' voltage rating.
In my current build I used PSUDII to simulate all voltages.