Hi fi kits - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th June 2012, 09:35 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Hi fi kits

Hi all,

I am thinking about building a Tube HiFi kit, Im a relative newbie to electronics been tinkering for about a year now. Has anyone got any ideas? I have interest in KT88's and 300B tubes but thats not a requirement if there is something really excellent out there.

I am keen to hear your suggestions!

Cheers
Old 12th June 2012, 09:50 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Here's something to start you off:

Simple SE

jeff
Old 12th June 2012, 09:58 PM   #3
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

Yes, start with something simple and not too expensive. Get that to work, and learn from your mistakes. Then try something a bit more ambitious. Don't strive for excellence too early as it is likely to lead to disappointment.

A year is not a long time in electronics! After about 8 years I thought I understood electronics. After 20 years I realised I still had a lot to learn.
Old 12th June 2012, 11:21 PM   #4
ttan98 is offline ttan98  Australia
diyAudio Member

Hi,

Get this:
A great tube valve amp.very smooth and warms sounds,beautifull appearance | eBay

it cheap and modify it if you like I bought one and I replace EL34 with KT88 without any mod. I don't think you can buy all the parts for the price they charge. The chrome chassis alone is worth more than AUD$100.