• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Hi fi kits

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I am thinking about building a Tube HiFi kit, Im a relative newbie to electronics been tinkering for about a year now. Has anyone got any ideas? I have interest in KT88's and 300B tubes but thats not a requirement if there is something really excellent out there.

I am keen to hear your suggestions!

Cheers

Yes, start with something simple and not too expensive. Get that to work, and learn from your mistakes. Then try something a bit more ambitious. Don't strive for excellence too early as it is likely to lead to disappointment.

A year is not a long time in electronics! After about 8 years I thought I understood electronics. After 20 years I realised I still had a lot to learn.

Hi,

Get this:
A great tube valve amp.very smooth and warms sounds,beautifull appearance | eBay

it cheap and modify it if you like I bought one and I replace EL34 with KT88 without any mod. I don't think you can buy all the parts for the price they charge. The chrome chassis alone is worth more than AUD$100.

More importantly they sound great as it is and you can mod them if you like, I will mod them at later stage in the mean I am enjoying the sound. You can see the internals(well made) of this amp from my photo website, scroll down to the bottom. BTW I got mine from the wholesaler for AUD$200 plus postage.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/54808408@N04/?saved=1

Hope this helps.

+1 for the Tubelab SSE! Great starting point.
Vinlykid58 - tubelab (George) has asked members here to refer to that amp as "SSE" , I believe he was threatened with legal action.