Best Current Production 6550 / KT88 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th June 2012, 12:13 AM   #1
mbeards is offline mbeards  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Best Current Production 6550 / KT88

Hello everyone,

I am new to the larger 42 watt dissipation power tubes and I am working on a P-P hi fi amp that requires 6550s or KT88s

I am wondering if anyone has taken the time to roll any of the current production brands through their system to find the best sounding?

Some people swear by a brand for a particular tube type but I am wondering if anyone has tried many brands before coming to a conclusion.

Im at a loss since I have never tried any 6550s or KT88s before .

Matt
Old 12th June 2012, 02:29 AM   #2
ChrisA is offline ChrisA  United States
diyAudio Member

My opinion. Tubes are not precision devices. I think they are "20% devices" with much variation even between tubes of the same brand.

If you build and amp, typically after you get it to work at all, then you "tune" it by adjusting at least the bias points and maybe the feedback circuit or the value of a grid stopper. Then if you roll tubes it is not fair unless you go to the trouble to re-tune the amp for best performance using the new tube.

Some times people will swap in some brand of tube and claim it sounds "harsh". Then you have to ask them if they changed anything else or not.

Another thing I think is that the brand of audio transformer matters a lot more then the brand of tube? Why don't people "roll" transformers? That is easy to answer because that would be hard to do. So we roll tube only because it is easy? I think so.