• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

KT88/PP driver confusion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi
I am going through KT88 Push Pull design , I have chosen my operating point as Ua=475 , Ia=70mA , Zaa=9k7. It should give me operation mainly in class A.
Please have a look at my loadline:
View attachment 282158
As a driver I am going to use triode strapped D3a in SE grounded cathode circuit plus LL1660 interstage transformer .Another option is LL1660 interstage transformer preceded by pair of D3a in LTP circuit , phase split by input LL1544A transformer .
Let's cut to the chase , to drive pair of KT88 with no grid current I need 2*53V=106V peak-peak (~34.5 VRMS) , lets assume that my interstage tranny has step down ratio 1:1.125 .According to that I need 38.8 VRMS from SE triode strappeed D3a. As D3a has gain of ~77 , it means that 500mVRMS from source drive my amplifier to full power.
Assuming that standard CD puts 2VRMS output , what will happen when I go above 500mV?
Regards

Hi
Let's cut to the chase , to drive pair of KT88 with no grid current I need 2*53V=106V peak-peak (~34.5 VRMS) , lets assume that my interstage tranny has step down ratio 1:1.125 .According to that I need 38.8 VRMS from SE triode strappeed D3a. As D3a has gain of ~77 , it means that 500mVRMS from source drive my amplifier to full power.

Are you planning on using any feedback? That will reduce overall gain and input sensitivity. I'm not at all familiar with interstage transformers, but if you still need a LTP phase splitter for driving PP, then the gain will be less than 1/2 the tube mu. You'll also need enough current to drive the Miller Capacitance of the KT88's.

Hi