• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Unison Research S8, let's build it!

Hi everyone,
look what I found....the unison research s8!

unison audio s8 845 single ended tube amplifier,octal 2a3,el34,ecc82,ecc88,kt88,300b,845 direct heated triode,mkp, ...

So..I posted the schematic. Now, is there anybody out there that can help me build this sweet jewel?

I'm not an expert in elecronics, so I'll build it with my uncle, but I need some help on finding all the needed pieces.

I was told by someone who knows a lot about tube amps to use a 5687 alimented at around 550v to drive the 845.

Ervin

ps. could please someone who knows how to do it rewrite the schematics on the computer?

Last edited by a moderator:
You mean I can spend better my money on investing them on a better diy 845 amp? Any suggestion?

ps. Don't you like the s8 schemtic? Do you think there is something that can be improved?

Something could indeed be improved; The s8 does not allow class A2 operation due to the AC signal coupling of the output tube's grid.

Take a look at the schematics from Tubelab for the 845, you can find the schematics over here: 845SE

In his amplifier he drives the output tube's grid DC coupled with a mosfet. This arrangement allows for grid current to flow, which in turn allows operation into higher power levels (read the article for more information, it's quite a good read :) ).