preamp for reciever? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th April 2012, 11:30 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default preamp for reciever?

Hey all,
I'm an EE student and want to get my hands dirty on some diy audio equipment for my hifi system at home.
Currently this is my system:

Laptop -> Optical in Yuan Zero DAC -> Yamaha Integrated Reciever rx367 -> stereo paradigm mini monitors.

The yuan zero dac has a preamplifier stage but i have it turned off because I don't think its very good.

I was browsing around for a DIY kit for $100-200USD and found these chinese copy preamp of the Jadis JP-200 and Marantz 7
DIY Kit ref Jadis JP-200 JP200 Tube Pre Amplifier 2 Ch | eBay

I know that these where originally designed for phono line amplification. But im wondering if it would serve any benefit to my system?
I know the rx367 has a preamplifier internally, so is adding another pre-amp overkill?
Im aware that adding a LNA at the start of a cascade drastically reduces noise figure and improves S/N.

Any advice is greatly appreciated
Old 18th April 2012, 12:22 PM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Stay away from cheap Chinese gear that's sold using stolen trademarks. The designs and implementations are consistent with the ethics.
Old 18th April 2012, 12:54 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

yeah i figured as much after a little more research.
I was thinking getting a Line Stage Preamplifier from Aikido. Unfortunately my knowledge of what im actually doing is minimal...
Im shooting in the dark here.

Any recommendations on an Aikido kit and specific tubes?

Cheers
Old 18th April 2012, 01:03 PM   #4
diyAudio Member