Don't know where to start... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th April 2012, 06:46 AM   #1
jeff517 is offline jeff517  United States
diyAudio Member

Question Don't know where to start...

Just finished putting together my first project. K16 LS kit from tube depot. It didn't catch on fire or anything when I plugged it in and turned it on. Great news for me.just doesn't make much noise (sound) Built it just how the instructions say. Sounds like headphones turned up full volume. Going over it everything looks the way it should. double triple checked... where dou you think I should start looking? not much I know but, I'm a newb.
K16LS w tone control
klipsch heresy speakers (efficient enough?)

just need a direction to start in.
Old 16th April 2012, 12:38 PM   #2
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

Measure DC voltages. Compare with what they should be.
Old 16th April 2012, 02:19 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Can you post a schematic? That will go a long way toward a solution......

Here are a couple of threads that might be of interest:

Review of New S-5 K-16LS Kit

Edcor OPT in S5 Electronics K-16LS kit?

EDIT: If this is the schematic, carefully measure your B+ voltages (DC voltage across C10 and C11) and the DC voltages across R12 and R25 to start.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg k-16ls - schematic.jpg (89.3 KB, 267 views)

Last edited by boywonder; 16th April 2012 at 02:32 PM.
Old 16th April 2012, 02:21 PM   #4
Banned

Check your wiring again, make sure all the tubes have proper voltage, you might have one disconnected.
Old 16th April 2012, 02:35 PM   #5
diyAudio Member