• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Amp hum with Preamp off

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

So I have been playing around with tube amps for a couple of years and have built 2 amps and a preamp. My question is, when my preamp is off but that amp is on I get a noticeable hum when I increase the volume on the preamp then it fades off when the volume is at max. The hum is also there when the preamp is on and has about the same volume of hum. The amps are http://diyaudioprojects.com/Schematics/DIY-Push-Pull-PP-6V6-Tube-Amplifier/ with a choke power supply, and http://diyaudioprojects.com/Tubes/KT77-Push-Pull-Tube-Amp/ The preamp is based off a schematic from http://www.funwithtubes.net/ and the last object in the signal path from the preamp is a 500k alps blue pot. When I have either amp hooked up to my computer I do have a little base line hum which is ok for now but it is no where near the amount I get from that preamp volume control. Do I have impedance mismatch? What should I look for? Thank you for helping a newbie out.

Mike

Hi.

Are both power and preamp earth grounded with the signal grounds attached to earth?
If so you might have a ground loop. I think that means tiny differences in ground voltage levels are carrying a 60hz signal into your power amp. try a search on ground loops for ideas on a fix.

Cheers.
Rolf.

Last edited:
When I have either amp hooked up to my computer I do have a little base line hum which is ok for now but it is no where near the amount I get from that preamp volume control.

This part of your problem might be fixed by using a different outlet or even an extension cord to power your amp.