• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First Project with these tubes

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all, im totally new to Tube Circuits.

I have the fortune of having many NOS Valves, some of which include:
  • ECL82 Sylvania
  • CRC 6V6GT/G
  • EL84 Zaerix
  • CV378 / CV717 / CV8458
  • 6AU6 (EF94)
  • CV574 / CV2901 / E795
  • ECC88 Mullard
  • CV404 Chelmer
  • CV1833 Heintz and Kaufman
  • CV452 AD
  • CV1377 Chelmer
  • E82CC Rohre Siemens
  • E180CC Mullard
  • 6V6GT Brimar
I have no Power and Output Transformers.

Im looking for a detailed project showing all connections to build a nice amplifier with some of these tubes.

Im planning on making att least two valve amps.
The first one must be a ULTRA easy reliable first time amp that works well even when constructed by a tube nube.

After that Id like a challenge and make the nicest stereo amplifier i can with what i already have, given that ill need to buy Transformers.

:D and lastly id like to know if this transformer from RS Comp. is good enough for the first small nube amp.
Buy Audio Transformer Multi-tapped output AF transformer,3.5W Oxford Electrical Products N35A002F online from RS for next day delivery.

Thnx.

Last edited:
Send me an email (gwmaz at xtra.co.nz) as I might be able to help with transformers.
A lot more detail is needed before you decide on a design (such as expected power out, input sensitivity etc), but have a look at the RH84 for a simple single ended 5W design using EL84s, and the El-cheapo (do search on here as the designer is here, Hi Eli) as a PP 6V6 (and equivalents) design for about 10w.

Gary (in Nelson)

OEP Transformer