Old amp hum repair - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st April 2012, 10:09 AM   #1
Feagil is offline Feagil  South Africa
diyAudio Member

Default Old amp hum repair

Hi everyone

I am new in the world of tube audio, built a few small headphone amps, but now I have a slightly bigger and scarier fish to fry. I have an old amp given to me by a professor, it was built in 54 and looks like it was designed as a PA system. It has a pair of EF40 and a pair 5881 which as I understand are mil-spec 6L6 tubes. The output transformer has notches to set the output impedance, from 10 ohms to about 80. The problem is it has a very distinct 60Hz hum on its output. I want to use it as a guitar amp since it is a single channel amp.

I can either try and pull it apart and salvage the transformers or repair it as it stands. I was thinking one place to start would be a SS rectifier for the filaments. Would that help? and how would I ensure that the heater bias is correct, can I simply wire in a rectifier and connect it back on the points where the AC filaments currently are?

Any ideas are welcome.

Thanks for the help and sorry for the long post.
Old 1st April 2012, 11:29 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

A photo or two and any indication of manufacturer or part manufacturers, and why you think it was built in 1954. Best to understand the beast first :-)
Old 1st April 2012, 11:54 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

A "Distinct" hum to me would indicate a fault. I would try to rectify the fault before you start to "play" with the circuit.

Don't cure the symptoms, cure the cause - as true in medicine as it is in Hi-Fi DIY.