• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Old amp hum repair

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone

I am new in the world of tube audio, built a few small headphone amps, but now I have a slightly bigger and scarier fish to fry. I have an old amp given to me by a professor, it was built in 54 and looks like it was designed as a PA system. It has a pair of EF40 and a pair 5881 which as I understand are mil-spec 6L6 tubes. The output transformer has notches to set the output impedance, from 10 ohms to about 80. The problem is it has a very distinct 60Hz hum on its output. I want to use it as a guitar amp since it is a single channel amp.

I can either try and pull it apart and salvage the transformers or repair it as it stands. I was thinking one place to start would be a SS rectifier for the filaments. Would that help? and how would I ensure that the heater bias is correct, can I simply wire in a rectifier and connect it back on the points where the AC filaments currently are?

Any ideas are welcome.

Thanks for the help and sorry for the long post.

A "Distinct" hum to me would indicate a fault. I would try to rectify the fault before you start to "play" with the circuit.

Don't cure the symptoms, cure the cause - as true in medicine as it is in Hi-Fi DIY.

There are some pretty awful PA amps out there from all over the millenium, but its unusual to find one that had a "Distinct Hum".