Mystery Amp. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st March 2012, 10:05 PM   #1
rdshear is offline rdshear  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Mystery Amp.

I need some help and suggestions on what to do with an amplifier I just purchased.

I'm totally new to this so I'm hoping some of the people who've been around might recognize this and give me some advice.

First the photo's:

Click the image to open in full size.

The unit is in a steel box with a detachable speaker above it. The speaker (peering through the back slits) is a utah speaker.

Would the transformers on here be trustworthy? The coil? It appears to have been some sort of portable PA amp but the tubes are all marked JAN which if I have researched correctly means Joint Army Navy -- so is this possibly an old military amp?

Would it be worth rebuilding on this platform?... Just looking for info I guess right now.

Thanks,

Rick
Old 21st March 2012, 11:20 PM   #2
Cassiel is online now Cassiel  Libya
diyAudio Member

What do you want it for, to play guitar maybe? IMO that amp needs a LOT of work. Probably best idea would be to start anew with a new chassis. Dump the caps and resistors and keep the tubes and transformers.
Old 21st March 2012, 11:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Do you own a boat? Are you near a large body of water? Do the winds and water current cause your boat to drift over time? If "yes" to all of the above, you now have a great anchor to fix its location.

Best of luck with your project. I'd probably start by replacing all the capacitors, and in particular the electrolytics.
Old 21st March 2012, 11:49 PM   #4
Cassiel is online now Cassiel  Libya