• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Help with hum in AC heaters

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I have a tube output stage in my DAC which is humming. It's not a lot of hum I guess, but I can hear it in the background when my amp is turned to normal listening levels.

The tubes are a pair of ECC99s and a 6X4 in the power supply. All three tubes are AC heated. I ran the high voltage power supply through PSU Designer and it seemed pretty clean so I'm concluding it must be the AC heating that's causing the hum.

Is it possible to heat tubes with AC and eliminate hum entirely? or do I have to live with some hum?

What can I do to reduce/eliminate the hum?

I am not a tube expert but I know from doing pro sound and dealing with guitar amps that maybe you have a ground issue either inside the amp or from the wall.....I would try another outlet that is on a different circuit first and if that does not cure your problem then try relocating your ground in the amp...another question arises that you did not say whether your amp is grounded to the mains or are you feeding it just the Hot and neutral wire>????

Are your tube heater wires tightly twisted and far away from all signal circuitry? If any signal wires cross it, do they cross at right angles? And here's a trick that you can use with tubes like the ECC99 which might reduce the hum - build a voltage divider from B+ to ground such that the 'center point' is at about 40V, and connect this to the heater. You'll need to make sure the AC supply (i.e. the transformer secondary) is floating, and you'll probably also need to add a capacitor from the heater to ground. This should help with the hum.