• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Start to Salivate - My Tube Amp Candidates - Your thoughts welcome

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

New member/first post, so be gentle! :blush: Also I am no expert, just someone who has played with electronics over the years, and can solder to a good standard :sing:

Having just completed my Scope Clock See Photos Here I am ready to start on my 'first' amplifier project, and am blessed with having acquired 1200+ tubes (All NOS), along with a nice Tektronix scope, HP audio sig gen, and lot's of other nice test gear and discrete components, including 300+ capacitors that all test perfectly (including leakage thanks to the Heathkit cap tester I also got).

Having sorted and tested my major numbers I have the following candidates for pre-amp and power amp. All tubes match within acceptable measurements, so I'm very lucky!

2 x Tungsol 6550 Grey 3 hole Plates Top and Side getters (only option is SE as I don't have any more and they are sooo rare)
2 x RCA Red Base 5692 (Read that they are sonically stunning?)
3 x RCA Brown Base 5692 (Could I combine these well with the red base examples?)
2 x GE 7027a
5 x GE 8417
1 x RCA 8417
2 x GE 5 Star 6386 Matched Pair (Ultra Rare I read?)
1 x GE 6386 (not 5 star)
1 x GE EL34/6CA7 (wish I had a pair)
5 x GE 5751
1 x United Electron 5751
1 x RCA 5751WA
1 x GE 12AX7 (wish I had more)
3 x GE 12AY7
2 x United Electron 12AY7
7 x GE/RCA 12AV7