• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Designing a Gomes i/v stage for tda1541a

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Folks,
Bare with me, I am a beginner.... and I am trying to design a Gomes (supertotempole) i/v stage for a tda1541a dac. I am messing around in LTSpice, and am rather disappointed with the THD figures (2.12% !).

This is the circuit I am using, how can I improve the performance and/or simulation? (is my simulation wrong, or is the circuit wrong?)

Screen shot 2012-02-22 at 9.57.28 PM.png

Why exactly a Gomes stage ?
Without any kind of feedback or servo circuits (like a css) you will of course get high distortion. It is really not complicated.
In terms of math I think nobody here can tell you how to improve the circuit you posted. Even it looks simple, it is yet to complicated. You just have to do more simulating. I hope you know John Broskie's issue about the gomes configuration: Gomez Vs XPP Amplifier

With an acceptable working point fior the poor tubes and correct commands there there should be very low THD.

If you want to do a FFT .tran 0 200m 60m 1u might be a good place to start.

Thanks... I now get to 0.049%.

As for the reason why to use this stage, a very successful commercial player (AMR CD-77) uses this topology, and it's designer T. Loesch (active on this forum) has been promoting the circuit for some time here. :)

I thought why not try it for myself, but of course I would like to get optimum performance before I decide to build it.