diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   Designing a Gomes i/v stage for tda1541a (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/207357-designing-gomes-i-v-stage-tda1541a.html)

studiostevus 22nd February 2012 08:01 PM

Designing a Gomes i/v stage for tda1541a

1 Attachment(s)
Folks,
Bare with me, I am a beginner.... and I am trying to design a Gomes (supertotempole) i/v stage for a tda1541a dac. I am messing around in LTSpice, and am rather disappointed with the THD figures (2.12% !).

This is the circuit I am using, how can I improve the performance and/or simulation? (is my simulation wrong, or is the circuit wrong?)

Attachment 267968

Yvesm 22nd February 2012 08:19 PM

Mmmh !
But at wich output level ?

studiostevus 22nd February 2012 08:51 PM

5.2 Vpp

Doesnt LTspice normalize THD figure to 1V ?

studiostevus 23rd February 2012 02:57 PM

Edit: yes, i think it does... When going to FFT, it mentions "Fourier components are normalized to correspond to the time domain RMS amplitude"

the_manta 23rd February 2012 03:39 PM

Why exactly a Gomes stage ?
Without any kind of feedback or servo circuits (like a css) you will of course get high distortion. It is really not complicated.
In terms of math I think nobody here can tell you how to improve the circuit you posted. Even it looks simple, it is yet to complicated. You just have to do more simulating. I hope you know John Broskie's issue about the gomes configuration: Gomez Vs XPP Amplifier

revintage 23rd February 2012 04:46 PM

LTSpice shows both Fourier and normalized in the same table, so no problems with that. But there are other faults in the Spice setup that makes the THD figures go wrong.

But whats the use of making a Gomez? Donīt think it will come anything good out of that.

revintage 23rd February 2012 05:02 PM

1 Attachment(s)