5U4GB Tube Power Supply Schematic - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th February 2012, 04:11 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 5U4GB Tube Power Supply Schematic

Hello, I am new to discussion forum - building my first amp. I have just completed the enclosure and started wiring the power circuit. The amp I chose to start with is Alex Gendrano's KT88 SE. DIY Single-Ended KT88 / 6L6 / EL34 / 6CA7 Tube Amplifier
I worked through the calculations and have a fairly good understanding of the amp schematic. However, I have one question on the power supply schematic. I have completed the wiring and tested the output voltage. The voltage is from the 5U4-GB is 412VDC. When I connect the filter section the voltage out is 564VDC. Is this correct? The schematic has 400VDC after the circuit. I get the same voltage result if I use the CT of the transformer or as the schematic shows for the 5U4-GB.
Old 12th February 2012, 04:43 PM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Is your measurement with the supply unloaded? If so, expect the voltages to be unreasonably high. You can load it down with a power resistor chosen to draw the same current as the amplifier to confirm that all is well.
Old 12th February 2012, 04:51 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Yes, the measurement was taken with no load. Makes sense, I was taking the schematic verbatum as it shows 400vDC with no load attached. Thank you for the advice. I have attached a picture of my enclosure. Regards. Jim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Amp 3.jpg (35.2 KB, 457 views)
Old 12th February 2012, 05:49 PM   #4
euro21 is offline euro21  Hungary
diyAudio Member