• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

newer than noob looking for advice on RH84

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello I am new to DIY Audio. And I am looking for some advice and assistance.
I have very little electronics experience but I am attempting to learn. I want to get into Tube Audio but have no real budget to speak of. I acquired a Zenith 5k29 AMP pulled from a Console and thought I might be able to rework it. However with my lack of electronics knowledge I was quickly overwhelmed by the complex circuit. I should probably build a simple kit where all of the parts are included(or at least there is a clear parts list specd out) and all I need to do is stuff a PCB and then wire it up in a Chassis. I am very intrigued by the Decware kit.
Zen Triode SET kit amplifier model ZKIT1
But I keep looking at the Iron on this Zenith and thinking maybe I can reuse it. It has been suggested that I should be able to use the iron from Zenith in an RH84 build. From what I can tell the RH84 is a fairly simple design that many use as their first time foray into tubes.

I have looked at the schematic but what is simple for most is like a new language to me.

So I am looking for some confirmation Can I use this iron on an RH84, does there need to be any modification the components to in circuit accommodate my transformers or can I just build it per the schematic? Has anyone actual created a Parts list or BOM that they can share?

Am I kidding myself, should I just bag it and wait until I have the money to buy a Kit?
Anyone willing to mentor me?