KT88 Stereo Schematic and help - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th February 2012, 09:18 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default KT88 Stereo Schematic and help

So I think I may have jumped in to purchasing some components a little quick and I'm not 100% sure what to build yet.

I have no experience building audio equipment and don't own any either... but I REALLY want to get into it and purchased the following:

(2x) Gold Lion KT88
(2x) Sovtek 5751
(1x) EDCOR CXPP25-MS-8K
(1x) EDCOR XPWR105-120

I was planning on building: THIS PROJECT and I still may... just looking for some input.

Then, I was looking at THIS PROJECT but I would have purchased the wrong Iron, I believe (forgive me.. I am even new to circuits in general)

So what I am looking for is some confirmation that I should build the first project that I originally purchased the parts for or if there is a more simple project to start with that would perhaps sound as good (or better).

Thank you for any suggestion!

Im sure I'll come back with some more questions when I confirm which project to do...

Here is a rendering I did just getting excited:

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 7th February 2012, 09:44 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Did you by chance mean this amp using the 5751 as the driver?
OddWatt Audio 5751 SRPP / KT88 Push-Pull Monoblock Tube Amplifier Kits

If so, that would make a nice amp but it is a mono-block. The title of your post says "stereo". If your intention is to build two mono-blocks, you will need 2 more KT88, 1 more output transformer, 1 more power transformer.