Edcor CXSE25-8-2.5K single ended UL transformer - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd February 2012, 07:03 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Edcor CXSE25-8-2.5K single ended UL transformer

Hi all,

First of all, I'd like to say thanks for the nice and very interesting forum you have here! I have been a time attending in read-only mode, but finally jumped in and register!

I have a solid EE background and some experience in analog design, however, this is my first time on audio tubes design. I am planning to design and build a nice SE amp for a close friend of mine (and myself also, of course). I'm really excited with this great opportunity for learning new things and put hands down on a diy project.

Let's get to the point. I have nailed down the selection of the tubes and SE transformer: I will most probably use 2x KT88 per channel and an Edcor CXSE25-8-2.5K. On the paper (transfer curves) it shows the right balance:

- Very low distorsion at 1,25 K Zpri equivalent per output tube and channel.
- Low static power dissipation for each tube (Wa+g2), hence, assuring a long life (I never liked to put a device under close to max. rating specs).

My questions are:
1) What is your experience with Edcors and KT88 in SE UL configuration. Which Ia,g2 polarization current you chose?