diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   Marantz preamp (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/20465-marantz-preamp.html)

Hamish 19th September 2003 07:16 AM

Marantz preamp

2 Attachment(s)
Sorry if some of these questions sounds pretty basic, but this is my first attempt at anything involving tubes, so please bear with me.

i've been collecting/butchering old equipment for parts, and i'm just about to start on the Marantz 7 pre. First off, i've got a 6x4 rectifier, and i was wondering if this would be strong enough to supply both channels (models in PSU designer say that it gives up). Also, the transformer i have has a 6.3v tap for the heaters, and i was wondering if it was worth running these at DC, or just leaving them how they are.

Another thing, do i need to include the balance pot, and does the volume pot need to be so large (not so easy to get hold of).

And finally, i believe there are various mods/updates you can do to this circuit, but i can't seem to find any. I did read somewhere that there is an improvement if you run a B+ of 250v to all tubes.

Any help is most appreciated.

Thanks,
Hamish

analog_sa 19th September 2003 08:12 AM

My impressions of the 7: phono is not bad at all, weakish bass but some magic in the mids; line is simply not worth building. I think i used 5U4G and regulated the heaters. Better designs are available today.

SHiFTY 19th September 2003 08:20 AM

According to the duncanamps.com database (well worth downloading btw) a 6x4 can handle 70mA at 325V. So I think it would be just cruising along in your application.

In my opinion, it is definitely worth running 12AX7 on DC heaters. Reduces noise and hum by quite a lot. A diode bridge followed by C-R-C filtering will do nicely, adjust the R to get 6.3 V exactly. Also ground one side of the filaments.

You can omit the balance pot if you like just use resistors.