• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First design GU81M SE triode

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2009
Dear All. I have tried my best and tried to come up with a way to use some GU81M I have seen lying around and *may* go and secure for future projects.

It is my very first attempt to create something. I have replicated the first stage from Pmillet's (813 SE triode amp) and tried to implement the alternative method of strapping a pentode into a triode (diodes and bypass caps on the right) but pmillet used a resistor in his design so I guess it is the correct approach (also with te B+ envolved I'd rather keep everything simple) :)

I tried to do my best. It is probably just full of mistakes and useless but if anyone wishes to suggest a complete design I'd be grateful!

Alex

Attachments

• SCAN0001.JPG
    SCAN0001.JPG
    290.7 KB · Views: 1,091
Dear All. I have tried my best and tried to come up with a way to use some GU81M I have seen lying around and *may* go and secure for future projects.

It is my very first attempt to create something. I have replicated the first stage from Pmillet's (813 SE triode amp) and tried to implement the alternative method of strapping a pentode into a triode (diodes and bypass caps on the right) but pmillet used a resistor in his design so I guess it is the correct approach (also with te B+ envolved I'd rather keep everything simple) :)

I tried to do my best. It is probably just full of mistakes and useless but if anyone wishes to suggest a complete design I'd be grateful!

Alex

1) Can you really ground the screen in the input tube? Will that work?