Paralell SE 807 Amp design - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th December 2011, 04:45 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Paralell SE 807 Amp design

Hi all,

I'm about to start my second amp project, and this time my goal is to use up some tubes I have in my parts bin. The tubes I'm going with are a 6F5 and two 807's. My main idea here was to modify the RH 807 SE schematic to use two 807 tubes in parallel for the output stage. Take a look at my modified schematic and let me know if you see any major problems. This is my first try at my own circuit, so it's very possible that I made some errors here. The first picture is my design, and the second one is the RH 807 SE circuit.

Let me know what you think,
-Matt

Click the image to open in full size.

Old 12th December 2011, 08:00 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

I just noticed I missed something on the first schematic I posted, here is the fixed version

Last edited by mossmamc; 12th December 2011 at 08:22 AM.
Old 12th December 2011, 11:09 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Have you noticed that 6F5G is very different sort of tube than ECC81 used in RH 807 SE. You have biased this tube to too high anode current, or at least to untypically high, some 3 mA. You can get more gain and less distortion if the anode resistor is 100 k and cathode resistor 1 k.
This modification requires that you modify the 100k feedback resistor to bigger size.
Try something between 220k to 470k.

The output transformer should now be 3k instead of 6k as in RH 807 SE.
Old 12th December 2011, 12:43 PM   #4
bigwill is offline bigwill  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member