• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Paralell SE 807 Amp design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm about to start my second amp project, and this time my goal is to use up some tubes I have in my parts bin. The tubes I'm going with are a 6F5 and two 807's. My main idea here was to modify the RH 807 SE schematic to use two 807 tubes in parallel for the output stage. Take a look at my modified schematic and let me know if you see any major problems. This is my first try at my own circuit, so it's very possible that I made some errors here. The first picture is my design, and the second one is the RH 807 SE circuit.

Let me know what you think,
-Matt

ParalellSE807Amp.png

RH807SE.png

Have you noticed that 6F5G is very different sort of tube than ECC81 used in RH 807 SE. You have biased this tube to too high anode current, or at least to untypically high, some 3 mA. You can get more gain and less distortion if the anode resistor is 100 k and cathode resistor 1 k.
This modification requires that you modify the 100k feedback resistor to bigger size.
Try something between 220k to 470k.

The output transformer should now be 3k instead of 6k as in RH 807 SE.

Seperate grid resistors as well, right on the socket. The 10kohm in the supply is surely not intended to go to the OPT, but VAS only. Is that a so called 'Shade-feedback'? The supply will need more than 33uF, but I'm sure you know that. Aren't these tubes happier at a higher b+? With only 340V one'd think this is a class-A2 design and using low impedance OPT? (Of course it's not b/c the VAS cannot drive the output tubes in A2). What OPT are you using?

@SemperFi