Need help evaluating 2A3 transformer coupled designs - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th September 2003, 08:27 PM   #1
Eric is offline Eric  United States
diyAudio Member

Question Need help evaluating 2A3 transformer coupled designs

Hi Everyone,

I'm rather new to tube circuits and for some reason seem to be drawn to 2A3 based designs that feature interstage transformers for coupling. I suppose it is their simplicity that attract me...

I mainly listen to classical, pop, and jazz music at low volume levels, so I'm not concerned with low power output and cost is not really an issue.

Anyhow, I really have no idea how to evaluate the design itself and was wondering if a few of you who have more experience can help me. I found a nice looking design posted on the web by Ralph Powers that I find interesting:

Click the image to open in full size.

I was wondering if anyone has any comments about or critique of this design or a reason why I should not build it.

thanks!
Eric
Old 11th September 2003, 08:39 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I built it about 4 years using I.T's from Jack at Electraprint and also hisOPT's. Works great. Just take care with the 417A and oscillation. I cut off the unused grid socket pins.

BB
Old 12th September 2003, 02:35 AM   #3
G is offline G  United States
diyAudio Member

Actually a better approach is to tie a 200 ohm resistor to each of the grid pins and twist them all together at the other end. Then connect your signal in at the junction of the resistors.

G
Old 12th September 2003, 02:37 AM   #4
G is offline G  United States
diyAudio Member